Three Schools Earn State Award for Excellence

Chelsea Intermediate School in D157-C and Arbury Hills and Mary Drew elementary schools in D161 received the 2011 Illinois Honor Roll Academic Excellence Award.

Three area schools earned the 2011 Illinois Honor Roll Academic Excellence Award from the State Superintendent of Education Christopher A. Koch.

in Frankfort School District 157-C and and elementary schools in Summit Hill School District 161 received the honor for maintaining high academic performance for the past three years.

To earn award, schools must meet the following criteria:

  • made Adequate Yearly Progress in 2010 and 2011 as required by No Child Left Behind
  • for schools with grades 8 and under, 90 percent of students must have met or exceeded state standards in reading and math for the past three years.

This is the second consecutive year that Chelsea has earned the distinction, and the first time for Arbury Hills and Mary Drew. in D161 won the award last year, and and of D157-C were honored in 2008 and 2004, respectively.

The award was given to 438 schools throughout the state. Of those, 67 were middle schools and 566 were elementary and kindergarten through grade 8 schools.

Opinion 1 February 01, 2012 at 02:31 PM
Congratulations to all!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »