Board Says Goodbye to 12 Members, Marks End of Era

The November Will County Board meeting marked the last for a dozen members that are either retiring or lost re-election bids

Members honored for combined 92 years of service to Will County

JOLIET, IL- The November Will County Board meeting marked the last for a dozen members that are either retiring or lost re-election bids.  They represented nearly every district, worked on every committee, and served for a combined 92 years.

“A page is being turned today in the book of Will County government,” said Chairman Jim Moustis.  “We are extremely grateful to each of these individuals and the time they have given and sacrificed in the name of public service.  The county is a better place because of them and their immeasurable contributions.”

The twelve departing board members with their years of service are Katrina Deutsche (D-Crete) with four years, Cory Singer (R-Frankfort) with 10 years, Ann Dralle (R-Bolingbrook) with 14 years, Laurie McPhillips (R-Plainfield) with two years, Edward Kusta, Jr. (R-Bolingbrook) with six years, John Argoudelis (R-Plainfield) with two years, Brain Smith (R-Plainfield) with three years, Sharon May (D-Channahon) with four years, Deborah Rozak (R-Wilmington) with 10 years, Jim Bilotta (R-Lockport) with 10 years, Kathleen Konicki (R-Homer Glen) with 16 years, and Henry Travis (D-Lockport) with 11 years.

“It has been a real honor to work alongside these board members for so many years,” said Minority Leader Walter Adamic (D-Joliet).  “Through it all, everyone had the best interests of Will County residents in mind.  Many thanks go to them and their families for giving of their time and talents to make our county a better place to live.”

One of the reasons for the high turnover this year is because the board redrew district boundaries during the reapportionment process last summer.  Every 10 years, the board must reapportion, so that each member represents approximately the same number of people, and determine the size of the board to be elected and whether members are elected at large or by districts.  Under the old map, 27 members were elected from nine districts.  Under the new map, 26 members were elected from 13 districts.  These changes caused some members to choose retirement while others sought election to different offices.

“After 10 years, I decided the time had come to step aside and give others the chance to govern,” said retiring Majority Leader Jim Bilotta.  “I look forward to seeing Will County continue to grow and prosper under a new group of leaders.”

The new county board will be seated on December 3 during a special reorganization meeting.  Eleven new board members will take the oath of office, while 15 returning members will do the same.



This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Earnan Drummann November 27, 2012 at 03:11 AM
Good riddance.
steveisqueer January 03, 2013 at 02:55 PM
Yes, amen to that. Especially that scumbag Singer!!!
Wow January 11, 2013 at 06:59 PM
Peace out


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »